Ten Stamford Public Schools Seniors Named Commended Students

Three Semi-Finalist Announced in September
National Merit Scholarship Program Logo

Stamford Public Schools (SPS) announced that 10 seniors have been named Commended Students in the 2018 National Merit Scholarship Program, according to the National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC). Academy of Information Technology & Engineering Seniors Annabel Devault, Alexander Graf, and Ashneal Powell; Stamford High School Seniors Corey DeCamp, Mark Gjuraj, and Emily Wharmby; and Westhill High School (WHS) Seniors Sophia Ciokajlo, Koshik Mahapatra, Reshmi Ranjith and Nikhil Tungaturthy;  are among the 34,000 students nationwide recognized for their exceptional academic promise.

Commended Students placed among the top scorers of more than 1.6 million students who entered the 2018 competition by taking the 2016 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test.

“The young men and women being named Commended Students have demonstrated outstanding potential for academic success,” said NMSC spokesperson. “These students represent a valuable national resource; recognizing their accomplishments, as well as the key role their schools pay in their academic development, is vital to the advancement of education excellence in our nation. We hope that this recognition will help broaden their educational opportunities and encourage them as they continue their pursuit of academic success.”

Earlier this month the district announced three semi-finalists WHS Seniors Sarthak Behl, Bailey Paulk and Erica Shaulson, who are among the top 16,000 students nationwide. 

Media Release