Student and Staff Achievements for June 2018

Post it note with words, great job

At each monthly Board of Education (BOE) Meeting, we are proud to celebrate the accomplishments of select students and staff members. Following are those who were recognized at the June BOE meeting on Tuesday, June 26:

2018 National Latin Exam

Each year the American Classical League and the National Junior Classical League sponsor the National Latin Exam, a 40-question, multiple-choice test offered to Latin students on seven levels. Academy of Information Technology & Engineering (AITE) students along with more than 149,000 others from all 50 states and 16 countries took the exam.

Gold Summa Cum Laude
  • Danny Batista
  • Justin McArthur
  • Cara Emano
  • Josianne Ladouceur
  • Daniel Stevens
Silver Summa Cum Laude
  • Bruce Lara
  • James Boccanfuso
  • Mia Pottackal
  • Lucy Ammon
  • Sophie Jacobson
  • James Acosta
  • Siomara Rodriguez
  • Khy'Rie McGhee
Magna Cum Laude
  • Joshua Aarons
  • Humberto Figueroa
  • Eric Frattaroli
  • Nicholas Ricci
  • Nina Paolini
  • Timothy Weiss

2018 Congressional Art Competition

Each spring, the Congressional Institute sponsors a nationwide high school visual art competition to recognize and encourage artistic talent in the nation and in each congressional district. Students submit entries to their representative’s office, and panels of district artists select the winning entries. This year Stamford High School senior Cindy Luo’s artwork “Frustrations,” took second place in the Fourth District, sponsored by Congressman Jim Himes and the House of Representatives. Since the competition began in 1982, more than 650,000 high school students have participated.

2018 National History Day State Competition

Each year nearly 3,000 students with their families and teachers gathered at the University of Maryland, College Park for the week-long National History Day State Competition. AITE Senior Donia Elmansy won first place for her paper titled, “School Desegregation in Hartford, Connecticut: The Challenges of Implementation and Reform.” Each participant selects a topic on any aspect of local, regional, national, or world history.

Chapman University Annual Holocaust Writing Competition

Chapman University hosted an art and writing contest based on students’ responses to the oral testimonies of Holocaust survivors. Three AITE seniors Annabel Devault, Elisa Guitierrez, and Chris Shillinglaw were recognized for their participation in the poetry writing competition. The competition was made possible by Rodgers Center for Holocaust Education and The 1939 Society.

2018 SPS Video Competition

SPS held the 2018 SPS Video Competition to increase the public’s awareness, understanding, and engagement of its mission and vision. Strawberry Hill School took first place for its video produced by Music Teacher Seth Goldstein, Principal Frank Rodriguez, Administrative Intern Sandra Carlton, Reading Teacher Jessica Petruzzelli and community member Ian Wheeler. Second graders: Sophie Foster, Aryan Ruia, Srijitha Rayabarapu, Diego Bars, Adele Forman, Neil Nair, Aarav Ritesh and Nika Stepanov were also recognized for their participation. Second place went to APPLES Early Childhood Education Center whose video was created by Special Education Paraprofessional Samantha Alemseghed and Apples Interim Director Kendra Brown. Scofield Magnet Middle School Sixth Graders Charlotte McDonald and Riley Allyn film was deemed the best all-student produced video submission earning them an Honorable Mention.

National Merit Scholarship Winner

Westhill High School Senior Bailey Paulk was named a college-sponsored National Merit Scholarship Corporation winner in the 2018 National Merit Scholarship Program. Paulk will be awarded the National Merit University of Texas at Dallas Scholarship and is one of only some 3,500 students selected to receive a National Merit Scholarship financed by a college or university. College-sponsored awards provide between $500 and $2,000 annually for up to four years of undergraduate study at the institution financing the scholarship.

Ninth Grade Latin I Prize

Westhill High School (WHS) Viktoria Grushkathe is the winner of the $500 Ninth Grade Latin I Prize, offered by Dr. Allen Ward, Professor Emeritus, UCONN and Past President, Classical Association of Connecticut. Ward offered the incentive to encourage students to study Latin and awards the prize to the WHS Latin I student with the highest average for the academic year. This is the second time Dr. Ward has presented the award.