Congratulations to National Merit Scholarship Winner Westhill High School Senior Bailey Paulk

National Merit Scholarship Program Logo
National Merit Scholarship Program Logo

Stamford Public Schools (SPS) announced today that Westhill High School Senior Bailey Paulk  was named a college-sponsored National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) winner in the 2018 National Merit Scholarship Program. Paulk will be awarded the National Merit University of Texas at Dallas Scholarship and is one of only approximately 3,500 students selected to receive a National Merit Scholarship that is financed by a college or university.

Officials of each sponsor college selected scholarship winners from among the Finalists in the National Merit Scholarship Program who will attend their institution. College-sponsored awards provide between $500 and $2,000 annually for up to four years of undergraduate study at the institution financing the scholarship.

 “Congratulations to Ms. Paulk on achieving this level of distinction,” said SPS Superintendent Earl Kim. “Not only is this a testament to her hard work, commitment and intellect, but also to the support she has received over the years from her family, friends and the dedicated SPS staff.”

According to NMSC, additional recipients of college-sponsored awards will be announced in July. Earlier this year the organization named the corporate-sponsored award winners and the National Merit $2,500 winners. By the conclusion of the competition some 7,500 winners will be awarded more than $31 million.

The National Merit® Scholarship Program is an academic competition for recognition and scholarships that began in 1955. High school students enter the National Merit Program by taking the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT®)—which serves as an initial screen of approximately 1.6 million entrants each year—and by meeting published program entry and participation requirements.

Media Release